Back to All Events

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

  • Cambridge Corn Exchange (map)

The Sixth Concert in the Cambridge Classical Series

Conductor          Pavel Kogan
Violin                  Nikita Boriso-Glebsky
Prokofiev            Russian Overture
Shostakovich     Violin Concerto No.1
Rachmaninov     Symphony No.2

This concert of Russian greats opens in buoyant mood with Prokifiev’s folk-inspired Russian Overture.

Shostakovich’s fiery and exhilarating Violin Concerto No.1 makes huge demands of the soloist and award-winning Nikita Boriso-Glebsky rises to the task with a breathtaking virtuosic performance. The evening ends triumphantly with Rachmaninov’s Symphony No.2 taking the audience on a huge emotional journey. 

Pre-concert talk: 6pm at Heffers Bookshop, Trinity Street.  Free to concert ticket holders.

Earlier Event: May 12
Museums at Night
Later Event: May 21
The Hackney Colliery Band